top of page
Writer's pictureJoy Grace

Undergrad

When asked what I would take away from my four years of undergrad, I was stumped.


"So much..." I thought. "How do I narrow down all of these life lessons?"


If we don't know each other well, I transferred to Samford University after attending Snead State Community College for my freshman and sophomore years of undergrad. You also should know that I am a very outgoing person. I love being around people! So, the whole quarantine thing is extra icky to me! Finally, you should know that family is the MOST IMPORTANT thing to my heart and my life as a whole. I am super close with my little family!


So, if you will, take a trip with me down memory lane as I briefly overview each year and the challenges that came with it:


Freshman Year, Snead State Community College:

New school, new friends

Sophomore Year, Snead State Community College:

Friends I made freshman year, graduated and transferred to four year schools because they were a year older than me... so again, new friends

Junior Year, Samford University:

New school, new friends...again, but this time I did not have a roommate and that was NOT my plan. I wanted a roommate, desperately, but sometimes you

just don't get what you want.

Senior Year, Samford University:

My dad walked out of my family's life for a while and coronavirus hit, leaving me to say goodbye to my friends before I had planned on.



I do not know if you caught the cycle that has occurred during my time in undergrad, but the Reformed University Fellowship Pastor at Samford University, Walt Davis, talked with me about it. He was spot on.


"Joy, I don't know if you realize what has happened in your life, but for four years straight, you support system, that fellowship, the thread of community has never been steady for you."


I took a minute to think about it. We are encouraged as we start into our college years, to find those lasting friendships. Find the support that can stick with you as you go. Those people will be a vulnerable puzzle piece to the success that you have.


And for me... it changed every single year.


BUT...


I know that word has a bad reputation, but I love it...


BUT...


The only constant support system in my life, the only consistent thing (aside from my mother, sister and grandad), was God.


Somehow, in the midst of saying goodbye to friends every year, living by myself and away from my family for the first time, and being abandoned for a period of time by my earthly father, my Savior, my Unending Love, has kept me close and protected me through it all. He has held me up as my tears fell, he has lifted me high when I felt like I was falling.


He has sat with me as I threw rocks at Him out of anger and confusion.


"Those who sow in tears shall reap in joy." Psalm 126:5


"But one thing I do, forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus." Philippians 3:13-14


I love the word used in Philippians, straining.


The definition of straining is: To make a strenuous or unusually great effort, unjust (a limb, muscle or organ) by overexerting it or twisting it awkwardly, pull or push forcibly at something.


It is not pretty. No one wants to strain.


It comes from the Middle English/Latin word which translated is draw tightly.


Despite what college has brought me, I have learned more and more how to draw tightly to my Father in heaven. How to rely on Him above anyone and anything. I want to strain for His kingdom, and I think that is what I would tell my Freshman self. That bright eyed, expectant freshman ready to experience the adventure college was sure to bring.


"Strain for God, Joy. Draw tightly to Him. Your tears will not be in vain. Your laughter will point you to the future. Strain for God."


"So we are not giving up. How could we! Even though on the outside it often looks like things are falling apart on us, on the inside, where God is making new life, not a day goes by without his unfolding grace. These hard times are small potatoes compared to the coming good times; the lavish celebration prepared for us. There's far more here than meets the eye. The things we see now are here today, gone tomorrow. But the things we can't see now will last forever." 2 Corinthians 4:16-18


And there you have it. My undergrad taught me how to cherish those small potatoes. Even though most of the time, those potatoes feel about the size of Texas. This is not a sob story! This is a story of hope! A story of love! Those gigantic feeling potatoes we all go through in life, they are small and minute in comparison to that celebration we will have with our Heavenly Father!


Whether you are starting college, high school, a new job, or just a new season, I encourage you to draw near to Him. He truly cares for you and will never leave you. It won't be easy, and there will be a lot of straining, but that also makes it beautiful. I have lived a truly beautiful and blessed life, and I have also felt alone. But, I heard it said by the amazing Sarah Jakes Roberts that to find what you are passionate about, you have to find what you are willing to suffer for.


To see His face and hear His voice. Is He willing to suffer for?


He is.


He was willing to suffer for us. So, I am willing to suffer for Him.


Join me?



40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page