top of page
Writer's pictureJoy Grace

Poems

Updated: Aug 19, 2020

A collection of poems to periodically add to... :) enjoy.

 

The girl that ponders much - poem 6


There is magic in the light

that falls beneath the limbs

of the trees that flirt with the clearing


There is wonder in the road

that twirls with the wood

of the mountain that floats by the river


There is mystery in the girl

that ponders with the wind

off the water that proposes adventure


There is glitter in the light

that twirls with the wind

through mountains and trees the girl thinks of fondly

 

Metamorphosis - poem 5


A butterfly flew past me as I went into work

A symbol of freedom in a jailhouse kind of world


But I did not hesitate to walk through the doors

Because like that butterfly, my freedom takes time to form

 

When I am no longer, He is... - poem 4

When my eyes are no longer clear

for the blur within them settles,

And my knees no longer straighten,

weighed down by the world around them...


When my ears no longer listen

for the deafening noise within,

And my hands no longer clasp,

for the touch of trials I've lived...


I'll muster up my strength

and lift my head towards the sky,

And I'll sing of praise and glory,

for my King is drawing nigh...


The pain will not dwindle,

though it would be simpler that way.

My Lamb did not become a lion

without cracks in The Potter's clay.


So my eyes can pursue a haze.

My legs quiver when I stand.

And my ears can start their ringing.

The skin can peel from my hands.


That won't stop me from raising them,

Knowing I'm never more to roam.

Eternity is a beautifully long time my friend,

Hallelujah, for The King calls me home.

 

Nourishment - poem 3


We inspect ourselves in the mirror.

We weigh ourselves when we wake.

We deprive ourselves of sugar,

and it's greens we seem to hate.


But with each passing morning,

with each choice we make,

our bodies become purer,

for good things we will wait.


The temple takes new meaning.

The temple becomes great.

The temple will affirm her

through His spirit everyday.

 

Annointing - poem 2


My tear stained cheeks

Turn into Holy Water

In the Presence of the King

 

Winter Rain - poem 1


Do you hear the rain

on this cold December night?

As it patters on the roof?

As it pleases the sky?


Does it soothe your soul

from the outside in?

Even though it's chilly?

Even though it brings the wind?


And when you hear it pitter,

when it rages through the trees,

when it thuds against your window,

when it drowns the grass and leaves,


Does it make you frightened?

Do you run and hide?

Or does it keep you safe

in your bed where you lie?


I tell you, I can hear it,

as the temperature drops,

and it soothes my inmost being,

despite coming of the frost.


And when I hear it running,

through the leaves and on the trees,

It doesn't make me frightened.

It only brings me glee.


Because, the rain is kind,

despite what it can cause.

It's purpose always to restore

what man almost lost.

48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page